Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Umm Al Quwain

There's a name you don't often hear being mentioned. It is the smallest of our seven Emirates, and possibly the least visited. We had to make a trip up to Barracuda this afternoon to do an exchange of the Surger Guinness cans that accidentally came home with us last week.

The exchange was done without any hassle. I think we were in and out of the place in less than twenty minutes. Barracuda is in Umm Al Quwain (UAQ), and as we were driving back on the old road, I said to G that we ought to drive to the city and see what it's like. I honestly can't remember ever going to UAQ.

I don't know what one can say about it. It is still very under-developed. It has an "old town" area which is sadly very run down. It felt like something from the 1950's or '60s! I wonder if there is anywhere I could do any research to find out what the plan is for the town.

They have a nice beach which looked well used by the residents and they are allowed to BBQ on it (unlike Dubai). Unfortunately, we were there during rapidly failing light, so there is a bit of blur due to high ISO/low shutter speed.

We were home by 7 pm, so a three hour round trip. The evening seemed to vanish. I have taken over 300 pictures in the last few days and it's been hard to choose a picture (or two) to post.

In the morning, we checked out a new church that is not too far from us. It was lovely! Excellent service and a caring leadership team.

It was great to see that dozens of people walked away from the air crash in Kazakhstan!!

And I am finally caught up with my blips! Phew.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.