Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

For two very dear people

Today my mum would have been 93.  She died over five years ago.  I always loved her, she was our rock, but I got to know her all over again when she was old and unhappy without my dad.  At this point in her life I did a lot for her.  It seemed only fair, she had done so much for me when my partner was ill.  Of course my siblings did plenty of stuff for her, as much as they could, I just happened to live the closest.
 
So she is the first person these lilies are for.
 
The other person is Colin, my very dear Old Gent (OG), who died in the early hours of this morning at the Royal County Hospital in Winchester.  He’d been taken there with stomach pains a couple of days ago.  I could guess why, but I don’t know what was written on his death certificate, so best not to speculate.  I began to see him weekly about 18 months after Mum died.  I wanted to do some volunteering and this opportunity – to befriend someone old and lonely – felt right.  In fact, though, the ‘volunteering’ aspect soon flew out of the window, we just became good friends.
 
I will miss him hugely: his courage, his humour and his kindness.
 
xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.