The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

My Very Busy Day

I got up and went for a walk to several near-neighbours' houses, to see if I could interest them in a games evening. No one answered, but the walk was pleasant, and I snapped this little tree, grown on their allottment, outside G and J's house.

When I returned, G and J phoned to accept my invitation, and I called another friend. The phone signal was appalling, so she thought I was phoning to propose a walk, and that's what we ended up doing, with me, her, her boyfriend, and the dog Stella. We walked in the Heavens valley, behind our house, and through the woods. On the way back, I stopped to swing on the rope swing, and my friend K, who is a counsellor, couldn't resist asking me how how I was feeling, and why it was enjoyable!!!!

They came back here for tea and Christmas cake. As they were leaving, an old friend of Steve's called, and they had a very shouty conversation. Seems like no one uses landlines anymore, and the mobile signal is pants.

I had about half an hour of jigsaw-and-radio time, then had to get the house ready for supper and games. Reader, it was hilarious. Maybe it was the alcohol, but we actually had, among other things, a long and involved game of Ludo (!) and a set of terrifying rounds of giant Jenga (mostly terrifying because Bomble wanted to be right at the centre of the game, and I was worried that the collapse of the tower might cause him to have a heart attack. He is deaf now, though, so the noise didn't bother him).

Went to bed about 1.30 am. Couldn't sleep. The alcohol wore off, and I was wide awake, my body obviously in need of some more dodgy liqueurs. Next time, I might try the Viennese chocolate one.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.