LET SLEEPING ELEPHANTS LIE

HAPPY NEW YEAR'S EVE.  
Such a beautiful day today weatherwise.

The photo, for those that don't know, is of The Howgills taken from Garsdale.  Apparently if you see the whole of the Howgills in a row they look like a herd of elephants laying down sleeping, and I must admit, I  have seen them like that from the M6 motorway.  This is just one elephant.

We decided to have a run to Hawes.  Roads were nice and quiet.  It was very cold but very beautiful.  

As we got near the Ribblehead viaduct I asked Hubby to pull over into a layby and take a photo from the left side of the viaduct for a change.  I've always taken it from the other side as that is really the best view of it but I just thought I'd try something different Just as well I did because just as I stepped out of the car, very very carefully as the potholes were full of ice, a train came trundling past (see extra) - just a Northern one not a steam train sadly, but then the place would have been teeming with photographers if that had been the case.

On arrival in Hawes we went straight to the Wensleydale Creamery for a coffee.  The car park was quite full but the Creamery was not too busy.  After coffee and a browse we then walked into Hawes and just did a circular walk around the town.  Stopped in The Bay Tree for some delicious soup (so perfect for such a lovely cold day).

We then drove back via Garsdale, Sedbergh and one junction of the M6.

The drive from Grange-over-Sands, along the A65, then onto the B6255 at Ingleton, into Hawes and back down to the M6 via the A684 through Sedbergh must be one of the most beautiful in the country, especially on a glorious day like today.

Roads still nice and quiet but still frosty in places where the sun didn't reach.  I'm including a few extras as I still have 4 more that I can use this year.  I'm presuming they start again tomorrow!!

I hope you all have a wonderful New Year's Eve, stay safe and take care.  Thank you so much for dropping by and see you all in 2020.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.