Change

This evening the awaited change arrived with hot, dusty, gusty, smoky, pollen ridden wind. It was horrible outside while I was trying to do a few jobs and had to retreat indoors. Later I went out for my allocated half hour watering period and it was much cooler. Top temp today was 42.5. The garden looked pretty pathetic but what will recover .... will .....and I can’t really do much more to help.

Another death in the fires and more towns evacuated. Myrtleford is next in line, we have stayed there a couple of times most recently in April this year. It’s a delightful small town in the foothills of the Australian alpine country.

We didn’t do much today as it was too smoky to even take our usual ride, I did some exercise on the exercise bike indoors. I’m sorting through a pile of work papers I bought home when I retired, about time to shred what isn’t important ( only retired March 2018 ....talk about procrastination).

Our PM can’t win a trick. He decided to do something at long last to help the fire emergency but omitted to tell the coordinator of the RFS who found out on the media. Fancy forgetting to tell the guy in charge, he was pretty annoyed and didn’t hold back his feelings. Then the PM put an ad on social media with nice jazzy music to tell everyone how well the government ( ie his party) was helping ( with a section where you can donate to their political party). This didn’t go down well with the general public.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.