Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Yippee!

Last fall, I won top honors in a photo contest sponsored by Prairie Moon Nursery,  a US based native plant store.  There were 3 categories, with the one I entered being “pollinators”.  After being selected as the winner, they asked if they could use the image on their catalog cover - and of course I said yes.  So you can imagine how thrilled I was when Hubs delivered the mail to me today and I spotted this.  The photo was one I took this summer of a juvenile hummingbird sipping nectar while briefly perched on a bright red lobelia.  I loved the image so having it grace the cover of the catalog was especially rewarding.  I was compensated for winning with a generous store credit, most of which I spent pre-ordering some additional pollinator plants for my garden.

Anyway, since I didn’t get a single decent photo today, I thought I’d use this.  I don’t believe it runs afoul of copyright policies on Blipfoto, but if it does, I will replace this with something else.  

We got a dusting of snow last night, enough to look pretty and also to be completely melted by early afternoon.  It was nice to look at while I chatted with mom and dad this morning.  They are getting ready to leave for Arizona later in the week, driving their Honda down.  It will be strange for them not to be in the RV, but they’ve rented a small casita through AirBnB which will be a whole new adventure.  This will also be the first time in many years that I will not be traveling to Arizona to meet up with them,  

Tomorrow I have an appointment with the ortho surgeon to evaluate how the broken bones in my foot are healing.  Expect that I will be totally free of the boot, but not sure he will release me to PT yet.  We will see...

Thanks for stopping by...

Debbi

PS:  And if you live in the US and want a very reputable source for native plants, do check this company out.  I've ordered many plants and seeds from them to stock my pollinator gardens and always been 100% happy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.