The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Unexpected me-time

I went into work for INSET training, but bumped into a colleague on the driveway. She said that we weren't expected in that day, so after a quick chat, we parted and I thought about all the useful things I could do at home.

Instead of doing those things, I went to a supermarket and got some winter boots in the sale! As I was passing the cinema on the way home,  I decided to find out when Little Women was showing. The answer was, immediately! I got a bottle of water and some Smarties and settled into a comfy seat. Must have used an entire pack.of tissues, I don't even know what was so weepie about it, but I thoroughly enjoyed it. Saoirse Ronan as Jo does look remarkably like my niece, C, and they have a similarly energetic, no-bullshit, character.

After buying a pile of trashy novels for a fiver on the way back up the hill, I struggled home in the rain. I spent the afternoon watching some old episodes of Doctor Findlay (the 1993 series) while doing this tricky jigsaw. Steve made soup for supper and I carried on with the puzzle while we watched Girl on the Train. Nasty film (I never understood why the book was such a bestseller), but I've always preferred my films a little more cosy. Little Women, anyone?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.