At home today

I got up early so that I was at the front of the queue at the surgery to see the duty doctor. I was first, but was seen by a nurse. She was very nice and said she would arrange for the doctor to do me a certificate for this week. I said I felt I was most likely to be better by next Monday....but then I thought that last Monday. She said she would ring me, once she had seen the Dr this afternoon, but she hasn’t rung. I will go over there tomorrow to pick it up, as they are so under pressure, I’m sure she just hasn’t had time.

I drove home, then picked Mollie up and ran her in to work, to save her cycling. She isn’t coming home tonight.

Not sure where my day went after that. Sat watching tv and dozed. Daytime tv is dire, even with hundreds of channels. So I sat with my allotment book (well this one at least, which is my favourite) and just started to think about what to grow, when to start sowing seeds and where I’m going to put them. The tins have all my old seeds in, and I like to try with old seeds first, before I buy new ones. I also have some Roma tomato seeds that I took out of a tomato. The only one I managed to grow last year! I’ve never been very good at tomato growing but will try again this year. I have an idea that I’m going to start all the seedlings off in the conservatory. Anyway, it is a really positive thing that I like doing, and the knowledge that every new year you can have another go to try new things, or old things better, inspires me.

A small set back, my new packet of broad beans has been infiltrated by mice, and they have all been eaten! My fault for not putting them in the tin box. Lots more things to start this month, and preparation for February sowing too. Looking forward to feeling properly well, so that I can get on with it. Then I also want to get 2 more chickens to be company for Minnie. That will be a good start to the year.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.