Rowing on the Guadalquivir

We were on the river today, on a tour boat. I found it very interesting to see the city from the river, and also to see the many rowers, canoeists and others using the river for play and sport. Rowing in Seville really is quite 'a thing'.

After that, we went for a final lunch back at Niño Gordo, where we went before new year with AC. Truly excellent food again. It's a new restaurant, and quite a fresh concept for a Spanish restaurant scene that is quite conservative. But it seems to be finding its way.

I spent the rest of the day finishing The Siege. It's been a long time since I read a 'bit book' like that, which offered its all encompassing world in which to become lost. A bit on the violent and grim side for my normal tastes, but none the less an amazing achievement by the author.

Edit: I originally titled this Rowing on the Guadalquivir River. Mr A started off by suggesting that this was a tautology as apparently the name of the river is "Big River". However, closer inspection (of wikipedia, of course) indicates that it's actually "Great Valley", although "wadi" may be the closest Arabic has to "river". Anyway, this got me thinking about the fact that you often don't refer to rivers as "River X", or "X River", since you just call them "The Amazon", "The Nile" and that sort of thing. Some rivers are commonly called "River X", e.g. River Avon, River Tyne. But off the top of my head I couldn't think of one, in English, which we called "X River". Anyway, I changed the title!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.