Light after dark

Silly title, really, as it's a reference to the downfall of Donald Trump, but it's actually a picture of the sunset today, which means that it's precisely the opposite. But what I liked about this fairly zoomed in picture on the big lens were the patches of light higher in the sky.

A very bad night's sleep, as I was obsessively scrolling through social media for hours when I should have been sleeping, but I couldn't stop myself. It's wasn't my usual practice of doomscrolling as I wasn't particularly worried about what would happen in the US, but none the less I was fascinated by the events. And (writing on Friday), it does finally look as if it might have some consequences for DT, although far too late and after much damage has been done to the US political and constitutional system. I wonder if Biden can really cut through this fundamental divide in US society. I spent most of the day writing about some of the implications of these events, as I have to prepare the first draft of a short collective editorial for a journal on which I'm one of the editors, and the topic is After Trump!

Apart from that, I wandered over to Leith Walk to pick up a couple of things and get in a few steps, and went on my spinning bike for half an hour or so before dinner. With our dinner, we tried the gin we bought the other day (in a brewery...). We liked it *a lot*. Really aromatic and tasty. Not sure about the violent blood orange coloured bottle though...

We received formal notification of the resubmission of the planning permission application for the demolition site today. The number of units has been reduced by 15% (to only the top end of the 400s....), and it would seem that right up against our building, on Anderson Place, the units should be no higher than where we are in the building (4th floor). So while they might be as high as us, they won't tower over us. And I don't think our view in a south westerly direction will be much blocked. It's also planned that there should be a shop on Bonnington Road, which would be good. I remain convinced that there is scope for cafes too around this area, especially in the units on Clarice McNab Lane, abutting the Water of Leith, and right on the pathway and next to the Gormley. If only I were interested in setting up such a cafe.

I've no doubt that the plans will pass this time, as they have been formulated in partnership with Edinburgh City Council. I think we can still expect pile driving to start in the spring.... Meanwhile, we'll enjoy the sunsets that otherwise have been and will be in the future much more obscured by buildings close by.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.