Peacock tail fan

This is one of the presents that I bought at Sallymair's fund-raising coffee morning on 19th October 2019. This evening I (finally) had the opportunity to give to Melissa. She will be adding it to her growing fan collection.

I saw Melissa at our book group meeting at Ridgeback13's house. For a number of reasons, this month we met on a Friday night rather than a Monday. This may account for our high spirits this evening - or perhaps we should blame the wine, the presence of our part-time Glasgow member, or the excitement of seeing Ridgeback13's newly remodelled/redecorated/refurnished flat? At one point we were falling about on the floor testing the flexibility of our middle-aged bones - hysterical! The meal was also delicious, as can be seen in today's blips by Ridgeback13 and Winsford.

We all loved Booker prize winner Girl, woman, other by Bernardine Evaristo and spent quite a long time discussing its themes. A couple of our group listened to the book, rather than read it. I think that they missed out in doing so. This is because part of the experience of reading this work depends on engagement with the non-standard formatting of the text. At first I thought that this would drive me mad, but I soon fell into the rhythm of the prose-poem style.

The other excitement of the day is that I paid £1 for a lovely piece of Highland Stoneware in a junk shop this afternoon while looking for a sofa bed for Paddy and Caitlin.

Exercise today: walking (12,536 steps).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.