Capital adventures

By marchmont

Gold temple

It was a slow start regretting the 2+ pints of beer I had last night. After a good breakfast (included) I set off on my walking tour of Chiang Mai. There were various stops along the way, looking at clothes, buying some gifts, replacing toiletries for #2 son in Boots (yes Boots and Tesco in Thailand) and a refreshing iced green mint tea in the garden of a former colonial house, now a tea house.

Ended up at the Wat Phra Singh with its gold stupa and another reclining Buddha. The good is very impressive but one part of the East is closed for renovation.

Back to the hotel for a slightly chilly swim, a rest and then out to the Saturday Walking Street. All I can say is I'm glad I'm not claustrophobic. Escaped, just, having had 2 Chiang Mai sausages before finding a proper meal and one bottle of Chang.

I booked two tours today. The first is tomorrow with an 8 am pick up. I don't have to do elephants (did that in Luang Prabang) or a cooking course (that was ticked off in Hoi An). I do find myself comparing and contrasting.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.