Capital adventures

By marchmont

Rolling the 5 pm bell

As usual ended up listening to R4 in the middle of the night and then up early for an 8 am start to the tour the mountain top temple and the Royal Palace gardens. I should have worn trousers.

The problem with these pick ups is it takes an hour at both ends picking up and dropping off but at least I got at good seat.

The temple was very busy but I received a blessing and had my name written in my arm in Thai and wrote on the long yellow roll for the Buddha.

Then to the Royal Palace, well the gardens. The roses and other flowers were beautiful. I'm thinking of going to the Botanic Gardens on Tuesday if I can work out how to get there. Grab is dear. Met a couple off Aussies, my demographic, you've been travelling round the world since last May and won't be back till this May. Mmm!!

The sun was on the pool when I got back so had a swim and a bit of a sunbathe. Later I visited a restored historic house, drank coffee and ate chocolate cake in the gardens, visited the stunning Wat and associated buildings as the sun set and watched the monk sound the bell at 5 p.m.  The Sunday Walking Street opened then and I snacked on some street food but got out of there as quickly as possible.

I've just succumbed to beer and a burger and then I'm off 'home' to do some College work and travel booking.

No BBC on the tv but France 24 and Al-Jazeera. That will fill the emptiness.

The extra is of one of the signs on a tree in the temple grounds. Could definitely apply to my 3 boys but I suspect also, currently, a couple of more high profile ones.





The sun

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.