Capital adventures

By marchmont

Mortonhall meander

Encouraged by Blethers and #2 son I was out for a walk this morning.  though it was much easier to get the motivation today as it was beautifully sunny, though cold.  And R4 on Soundpeats is a good accompaniment. 

I walked through to Mortonhall, down past the now famous Stable Bar and then back via the private road and Braid Hills Road.  It does feel good to be out and it wasn't busy, very few folk are going around.  I'm fed up with all this 'are people breaking/keeping the rules' stuff.  The people I know and see are keeping the rules and that includes the shops, not that I'm allowed in a shop at present.

Once home I did some gardening which always cheers me up.  My type 3 clematis have started growing so I cut them hard back and also decimated the ivy that escapes from next door. When I was tidying up the rose round the front had a well distanced chat with a passing neighbour.

And what else have I accomplished today?  A huge pan of broth, a phone call catch up with A in the Port (Elphinstone that is) finding out about her genealogy course, an online chat with Hive support (don't know yet if it's fixed the problem but it was fairly painless).  Then a Zoom Making Music meeting where I came across someone I worked with in Aberdeen 17 years ago (we both have recognisable names) and a friend/acquaintance, M from Inverurie Choral.  Sometimes these Zoom meetings achieve more than you anticipate. 

And a bit of time watching the garden wildlife - blackbirds, tits, squirrels, a young fox, fat pigeons and next door's tortie and white who keeps stalking Willow.  Willow has come home with new scratches on her nose.

Tonight more tv and I might do some sewing too, or a might not!

Meanwhile the Malaysian Agong (head of state) has declared a State of Emergency until August. They won't start vaccinating till March, with the Chinese vaccine, and they'll have supplies for just over one fifth of the population.  

F2F - 4
Phone calls - 3
Virtual - 1
SI day 7

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.