Capital adventures

By marchmont

Art work #2

I got woken very abruptly, after another broken night, by the phone ringing just before 8. It was a bit dozy but I think it was a woman phoning to tell me that there was a change of time for the procedure that had been scheduled for Thursday but has now been overtaken. I managed to get out that it was off and my surgeon had said he'd cancel it. Another fail of communication within the NHS.

The rest of the day I continued to follow the rules to the letter, going no further than the patio out the back and the gas meter out the front. Willow did quite a lot of running in and out before retreating to my bed.

After breakfast I wrote to the Cab Sec re my increasing concerns about the failure to test those giving domiciliary care or confirm when they would receive vaccines. Some weeks m has 12 carers in and out the house, all of them in and out of other homes. I'm not expecting any action but I feel better having raised it. Then an hour's call doing my mum's care plan review.

After that I was going to go out, but it rained (it was also cold and windy) so I found another 2 drawers to tidy. These were full of saved birthday and Christmas cards, now mainly consigned to the recycling. And I did some cooking. There will be more tomorrow.

Some news from KL, confirming what was said yesterday. They are locking down again being unable to get below 1000 cases a day. Schools that opened today will close on Wednesday. Amelia hasn't been sent back to preschool anyway and Olivia is not due to start to the 20th. When will I see them again?

The TRV upstairs is still rogue so my bedroom is roasting which made my long late afternoon soak very comfortable. I've found even more smelly stuff. I really do hoard it.

And now an evening in front of the box. Monday nights are pretty good, well for me. I'm trying to avoid the news and thoughts of cancelled ops.

This is yesterday's masterpiece. Looks better as a photo than in real life. I found the work I did when I did my water colour course in 2010. I need to refresh my techniques.

F2F - 0
Phone calls - 2
Virtual - 0
SI day 6

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.