Capital adventures

By marchmont

Dreaming

2 years ago today I was in Chiang Mai in Thailand. The closest I could get today was the Chaophraya restaurant (50% meal offer) in Castle Street.  My first Tiger (well 2) since spring 2020.  

Nostalgia over the day was varied.  The remaining work on the garden has started though there is not much impact on me.  I spent an hour or so doing emails after the pool. I still have the difficult one to do.

Then off to town for lunch.  I took the book with me.  I've been struggling with 'Hamnet' since Y lent it me well before Christmas. However, reading a couple of sentences in bed a couple of times a week is not the way to read any book. So I did what I usually do as a sole diner and read over lunch.  I really got into it.  And the spicy Thai stir fry deserved to be eaten slowly.  Unfortunately I did not have space for mango sticky rice.  Next time. 

Then to Rose Street for the real reason for a trip to the city - to see M the dental hygienist. That SW wind was chilly when I came out but there was a #31 at the stop so it wasn't long till I was home.

I read more listening to a mix on Sounds and also dozed.  Since then it's been a quiet evening.  I've finished 'Hamnet' and having got into it I did enjoy it.  A book to make you think and reflect.  I watch Boris and his quite unbelievable explanation and 'apology'. Maybe he should think and reflect. Ironically there was a Conservative Party Political immediately after 'Reporting Scotland', filmed in the summer.  I bet they were regretting the timing of the broadcast.

It's so quiet here, just me and Willow, and the Beeb. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.