GOOD ADVICE? or STATING THE OBVIOUS?

I've had a lazy day today.  I have mostly been sitting on the sofa doing some admin and catching up on TV watching.  The weather was wet and windy so I'm glad I didn't need to go out for any reason.

Newcastle were playing away at Wolves so I listened to the match on the radio.  Newcastle started off well and scored first. ( Miggy again on the 7th minute ) Wolves equalised on the 14th minute.  No more goals so the match ended in a draw.  I'm OK with that as at least its a change from all the losses they suffered over Christmas and New Year.

When I was on the bus yesterday I picked up a timetable.  I looked at it today in more detail and I have blipped a paragraph from the last page.   To me it seems rather silly to be pointing out the obvious on how to use a bus.

The second line - " Raise your arm to signal stop as the bus approaches " reminds me of something my late husband Douglas always said when we were at a bus stop when Becky and Neil were little.  It was a quote from a 1941 London Transport poster which featured the cartoon character Billy Brown Of London :~

Face the driver
Raise your hand
You'll find that he will understand.

Thanks to admirer  for hosting Silly Saturday.

Musical link BUS STOP - by The Hollies.

Steps today - 2,491

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.