River Tyne - Dunston

I had a lazy morning- and it was turning into a lazy afternoon but I managed to stir myself into going out.  Got the bus to Aldi.  Before going into the shop I took a walk along a nearby path which leads down to the River Tyne and the  Staiths at Dunston.  The light was fading by this time but I did take a few shots.  Ditched most of them but some were Ok.

My main blip shot shows an old structure near the Staiths.  It seems to be very popular with seagulls.

In my Extras collage you can see a photo of part of the Staiths in mono with the moon just above it. I also included a couple of shots showing the lovely reflections from lights on the other side of the River Tyne. There were three swans swimming around.

Musical link  - Down by the RIVER by Neil Young

By the time I made my way back to Aldi it was getting dark.  The shop was very busy.  I bought more than I intended and my bag was heavy - but the bus stop isn't far away.

Steps today - 7,827

Info ........ Dunston Staiths, on the River Tyne was opened in 1893 and is believed to be the largest timber structure in Europe.It was built to allow large quantities of coal arriving by rail from the Durham Coalfields to be loaded directly onto waiting colliers (coal ships) ready for the onward journey.

As the coal industry declined so did the Staiths, eventually falling into serious disrepair. The National Garden Festival held in Gateshead in 1990 saw extensive restoration work carried out, with the Staiths used as a  performance space and art gallery.
 
Serious fires in 2003 and 2010 inflicted extensive damage.  Fortunately funds were raised  to kick start the ongoing restoration which has seen it transformed into an exciting and sustainable visitor attraction.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.