Remembering MollyCollie

A year ago today Ann lost her very first dog; 'MollyCollie'. ….........And now she has owned me for 11 months. #Whatadifferenceayearmakes.



MollyCollie was a very troubled little dog. There were so many things that she was scared off when Ann first adopted her. And some things she just didn't get over. Like her fear of skateboarders and posties and buses and a whole host of other things. But to Ann she was a perfect little pooch and Ann still misses her every single day. She lived with Ann for exactly 14 years until her back legs just gave up and she had to be put to sleep forever.



Ann always knew that she'd get another dog, but she remembers sitting with friends about a week after she'd lost MollyCollie and saying, 'I'm never, ever getting another collie because I don't think I have the ability to love another collie as much as I loved MollyCollie. And I'm not getting a puppy because they're too much like hard work??!!'



…..................And then ONLY a month later, what does she get?...................... ME................ a puppy collie??!!



It was definitely fate?!



Ann's besties sister, runs a dog rescue centre and when I was found in a hedge when I was about 3 months old, she knew that Ann would be the bestest puppy mummy for me. We are so lucky to have found each other.



And yes.................... it has been very hard work. When I was little, Ann's social life was severely curtailed. And toilet training me seemed to take forever. I just didn't seem to get it. And Ann's expectations of me were way higher than when she first got MollyCollie. And a lot of the time Ann would witter on to me and I wouldn't have a clue what she was going on about. And then she would get frustrated and say such things as, 'MollyCollie always understood what I was saying'.



But do you know what?......................... I've lived with Ann for 11 months now and we love each other. And yes, Ann has got the ability to love another collie. And yes, she has managed to train a puppy (ie ME) despite it being very hard work.



So here we are...................... one year later.   Ann will never, ever, forget MollyCollie but life moves on.



Today Ann left me 'home alone' for 5 hours and when she came home I was lying happily in my bed and hadn't done any chewing. Yay!!



I understand that Ann will never, ever forget MollyCollie but I'm such a secure, chillaxed little collie pup that I know that Ann loves me too.



Ann says I'm amazing and she can't imagine life without me. And now that I'm 14 months old we are going to have so many fabulous adventures together.  I just can't wait!!!



RIP MollyCollie xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.