Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Hobbies

I was intrigued with the theme for this week's TinyTuesday challenge - hobbies (and thanks to KangaZu for hosting ).  At first I was thinking, of course, of shooting a camera lens or some piece of gear.  But then...I remembered that my FIL used to hand-tie fishing flies and I knew that Hubs had saved them all when his father passed.  So, down to the basement we went where Hubs unveiled the treasure-trove of flies and fly-tying supplies.  Suffice it to say, there will be more photos in the future!

My FIL had very big hands so it used to amaze me that he could tie these delicate little flies with their tiny bits of feather, trim, thread and hooks.  As he aged and the arthritis took over, his flies became less precise; eventually, he stopped tying.  One day, Hubs will find someone who still ties their own flies, someone who enjoys fly fishing, and gift the flies and supplies to that person.  It will be a gift that someone will treasure, I hope.  This fly is about 1.5 inches in length; others are larger and others far, far smaller.  Each a treasure.

I headed to the gym today and did my slow mile plus weights.  Day 3 for this week.

Turkeys are on the patio, noshing on seed and cracked corn.  Only 4 today; the girls and one tom.  Izzy's limp is getting better.  All is well.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.