Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Impressionistic

I was recently invited by a fellow Blipper to join a FB group for Impressionistic Photography and I've been really enjoying the many images posted there.  I've been inspired to try my hand at creating impressionistic images and thought I'd post one for today's Blip.  I took this while I was out walking with two birder friends this morning.  (We managed to see 18 species, not bad for a winter day.)  

I took this overexposing it a bit and then fartnarkled it around in Lightroom to achieve a misty effect.  The main thing I did in LR to create the soft look was to adjust the Clarity and Dehaze sliders.  I also toned down the highlights and whites. Then I took it for a quick spin in Color Efes Pro.  I'm not sure it is "misty" enough to really be considered impressionistic, but I rather like the effect.  I will pop a second image, of the trail with two people walking ahead of us, in Extra.  And comments/constructive suggestions would be much appreciated.  

Several miles on the trail was a great way to clear my head today.  It was nice not to be reading the news and it was nice to just be out in nature.  

I don't know about any of you, but I feel exhausted at the moment.  We've been dealing with Covid since early last March, and in various phases of lockdowns, etc since 21 March 2020.  Add to that the stress of a very contentious election, the subsequent refusal of the loser to admit he lost, last week's assault on the Capitol, our recent Covid scare at home, and ... well, I'm tired. This will be a year in the history of the world, and in my country, that will be studied by future generations.  

In other news, the Gang of Five (wild turkeys) was around a couple of times today.  Spooky as hell but they've learned where the food is, so good on them.  You know I love my turkeys.  

So, you know the drill...be safe, be kind and...

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.