Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Hyacinth

If of thy mortal goods thou art bereft,
And from thy slender store two loaves alone to thee are left,
Sell one, and with the dole
Buy hyacinths to feed thy soul.


Not sure I would do that but the heady scent of hyacinths filling a room is certain to bring a smile to one's lips.


Today is Thomas' birthday - nothing like a 19 year to child to make one realise that the years have gone by very fast and life is moving on. We won't be seeing him this weekend as he is busy at university but he got cards and a present and we phoned to wish him happy birthday this morning. 


My banana loaf went down well, considering it is gluten free and dairy free it was unexpectedly moist and delicious. Gavin gave it his stamp of approval! I even gave some to P the dog walker this morning when he came to take Xena out - I was ready for her when she came back with the portable shower filled with warm water to wash her down as I knew she would be filthy and muddy after all the rain we have had this week.


I met a friend for lunch in the village today - it was her birthday just before Christmas but we never had time to meet up to celebrate, so today we had a belated birthday lunch. It was lovely to catch up and chat over our salad lunch.


Looks like we are in for a dry but cold weekend - I have two good walks planned, so I am pleased it will be dry.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.