Capital adventures

By marchmont

Leaving Lanta

The tides at Saladan are weird. The sea was right in this morning, although every other day it's been way out. I thought of going for a swim, but no.

Packed and checked out and got to Krabi at 11.30, probably a hour earlier then I needed to be. Krabi is a very small airport, although it is being extended. Screening is fierce. They picked up the battery pack I don't use and had overlooked and the face spritz that I'd left in my handbag. And wouldn't let keep my rocks, well I probably should have stuck them in the case. There isn't much in Departures, not even a water refill point. Turned out the cheapest bottled water (30p) was in the Duty Free. I discovered that as I bought #2 son his bottle of Botanist gin. About the same price as UK supermarkets.

Quick flight south, about 75 minutes, but the hardest landing ever. Not normal on an Airbus. There was a lot of yelling as we hit the ground.

Then it all went pear shaped. Took 2 and a half hours to get out the airport. 90 minutes of that was in the immigration queue. It was dire. I'm not good in queues. Seemed to depend what nationality you were as to how long each person took to be processed. By the time I got through my bag was all alone beside the belt. So much for 'don't leave your bags unattended'.

Now in a Grab on the way home, starving, breakfast was 11 hours ago. Looks like I'll be back at KLIA (not 2 thankfully) on Thursday. The home front seems to have settled and J & D are checked in ready to fly on Wednesday.

Edit: Historical footnote.  Part of the delay at KLIA was that travellers flying in from China were being separated out for health screening.  The first sign I saw of the coming storm.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.