Catch up

You should have sent the look of disbelief on the face of the barista in the Costa Café when I said I was looking out for a classmate I hadn’t seen for 70 years. He thought I said 17 years which I suppose was a bit of a compliment and I like to think that when we did meet up he must still have thought 17 was more likely than 70, but 70 is surely was because that was the time I changed schools from JGHS to MESG and lost touch with my former classmates.

It would take too long to describe the how we managed to get in touch but it was through a third party who had absolutely no idea that the name she mentioned was my erstwhile friend from that bygone era.

She seemed very familiar as often happens with an early shared background and our families are quite similar in size and complexity. Our coffees got very cold as we told each other how our lives had panned out in the intervening years. We still have some way to go, so plan on meeting up again later.

Elated by my morning meeting, I set to when I got home to turn the black bananas, featured a few days ago into a banana loaf. It is out of the oven and cooling now on the wire rack. The last time I looked, all was well but that is not a given when next I look. Baking Goddess is not a description which fits me at all.

My extra has appeared on these pages before, but it my class of 40 taken when I was about 7 or 8. Lest you muddle me with someone else, I am foot right and my friend is third from the right in the back row.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.