An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

The hills are alive...

Happy Birthday to me!  :-))  Another year older but not any wiser :-))

Felt a bit achey at bedtime last night so took one of my stronger painkillers as I went to bed.  As a result I had a much more settled night (good) but didn't wake up till very late morning! (not so good!)

David, the sweetheart, brought me a small bowl of cereal in bed along with my birthday gifts from him, Ele & Kenny, John and Norma, Agnes and Adrian and Christine.  I had a lovely time opening my cards and all my lovely gifts (people are so thoughtful) and felt very spoiled indeed.

A mad rush then followed to get ready to get out of the house by 12.30 to head to Cromlix, where David was treating me to a lovely birthday lunch.

We have been to Cromlix a number of times and it never disappoints.  The surroundings, the service (relaxed, friendly, flawless) and the food are superb.  Andy Murray definitely made a wise decision when he purchased it in 2013.  

We started with a pre-lunch drink in the beautiful bar, real fire crackling away, before being shown to our table.  The fact the restaurant was 80% full on a Tuesday afternoon in January shows how good this place is.

We both had the same dishes for lunch.  Game terrine to start, Pheasant breast for main (David "this is very pleasant pheasant"  :-))) and finished it all off with the most delicious Madagascan vanilla rice pudding with crushed pistachios.  It was divine.  

Afterward lunch we had a run through the Perthshire countryside and a little gap appeared in the low cloud dappling the hills with little chinks of light.  We also stopped to chat to a very handsome chap who was happy to chew the cud fat with us :-))  

Got my birthday gifts from Alan this evening.  Rhubarb and ginger gin, a photo frame (for a photo of him and me) and chocolates.  He knows me so well :-))

And the best birthday gift was saved till last...it was Alan's quarterly weigh in, and after reaching his target weight of 49-50kg last year, he is maintaining it well at 49.4kg.  We are delighted and so will the dietician be when she visits on Thursday. 

Happy days :-)))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.