An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Special delivery...

Having had only three hours sleep the night before last, I gave myself an extra hour and a half in bed and set this morning's alarm for 7.30am.  

Unfortunately when the alarm went off, instead of hitting the snooze button, I hit the off button (further evidence that as D says, I cannot be trusted with the snooze button :-) and woke up, rather dazed and confused, three hours and twenty minutes later!  It was the strangest feeling when I woke up, like the world had moved on without me!  

Thankfully the bathroom guys hadn't turned up at 8am (quelle surprise) indeed it was just after 5pm when they arrived to re-fit the toilet and re-hang the door on the ensuite.  Rumour has it they will return Monday (perhaps Tuesday) to fit the shower enclosure and HOPEFULLY finish off!  

Meanwhile the bath still sits on the landing (see extra.)  A bit public but could catch on I suppose. 

A highlight of today has been making the raspberry jelly for tomorrow evening's Tipsy Laird.  (well it is Robbie Burns' birthday :-)  

I haven't made jelly since I was around 12 years of age.  As soon as I opened the packet and smelled those little rubbery cubes, I was back in my gran's kitchen again and we were making 1970s blancmange, where she made the jelly but before it set, she whipped in Carnation Evaporated milk until lots of bubbles formed.  It would then be refrigerated till fully set to be enjoyed later with some tinned mandarin oranges :-)))

But the absolute highlight of the day was sitting down for a short while, with a coffee, and delving into my birthday pressie to myself, which arrived yesterday.  

I've been looking forward to this since I pre-ordered it back in October.  I could read it in one sitting, but it's one I want to linger over.  A bitter-sweet read since Deborah Orr lost her fight with breast cancer at the end of last last year.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.