Mountain and moorland

Mixed weather on Skye this morning. I left Ardvasar just before noon after a heavy rain shower, but had a lovely drive northwards up the Sleat Peninsula in warm sunshine. Over the water to my right the mountains of the mainland were wreathed in cloud, but on Skye they were clear. 

Over the Skye Bridge and eastwards along Glen Shiel, where the weather was very different!  I had a picnic lunch in the car while the rain poured down, changing to sleet and then snow as I continued the journey home. I would have liked to have stopped to take photographs, but the weather wasn't inviting! 

The last stretch down the Argyll Coast was better - quite sunny - but I could see a large cloud up ahead dropping rain somewhere, tho' it turned out not to be Oban!

My extra is of the Skye Bridge, opened in 1995. I've back-blipped for yesterday.

Quote of the Day:

Brian Waters, 'Thirteen Rivers to the Thames' - "A countryman can become a townsman in a few years, but no application can turn a man from the town into a man of the country."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.