A shrub pruned like a . . . chair?

A very grey and gloomy day today, some sleet, but with light rain melting most of the ice that was left from yesterday. I togged up as usual and walked down town, choosing a slightly different route this time, ending up in Rockfield Road and walking down beside the old school.

I snapped away as I walked, some good things and some bad things, trying to make the most of the good and not be overwhelmed by the bad; mostly rubbish, broken flower planters, filthy road signs, rusty electricity boxes and collapsing walls.

I came away from the seafront after having a look at the recent work by the council ‘gardeners’ in the shrub beds opposite the Corran Halls. People have been arrested for causing less vandalism! It’s sad to see what were once lovely shrubs absolutely butchered, and all the chippings tipped over the rest of the shrubs. It would look so much better if they took them all out and put it down to grass. I wasn’t going to moan – but I’ve put a picture on as my Blip today. Beauty one day and ugliness the next!

My extra today is the good ship ‘Helen Rice’ unloading great loads of chains and cables on to lorries – fish farm stuff maybe.

Quote of the Day:

Richard Schultz - "I wanted to design a chair which looked like a shrub pruned to look like a chair."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.