Dump the compost

Dull today, not cold. I decided to do a litter pick which means that carrying a camera is tricky. As I was walking round the North Pier I noticed a Black Guillemot swimming and diving all by itself. I took about a dozen pictures, but unfortunately it was so fast and I only had my small camera so none of the pictures were very sharp. I’ve put the best one on as an extra. These birds are well-known in Oban as they nest in holes in the harbour wall. My Blip today has to be a young gull who was obliging, or hungry enough to stand still quite close to me.

I’m used to finding odd things on my litter picks, such as full cans of beer or bottles of drink, but today I found a bag of Levington compost. What was odd about that was to find it halfway up the steep path known as Star Brae, tipped over the fence. It wasn’t there when I walked up there a couple of days ago. There was a split in the side so the water had got in and saturated the compost – I could barely lift it over the fence. How  - and why - had somebody carried it up the hill and thrown it over the fence? I had to rip the bag open to tip the compost out and take the bag away.

Quote of the day:

Joanna Lumley – “I hate the hand that comes out of a car and just drops litter in the street. I hate that! For some reason, it just fills me with fury! It's just utter laziness, lack of interest in other people, lack of interest in the planet, in the hedgehog who might eat the plastic bag, it's a lack of concern.”

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.