What do you do with 359 glasses?

Today we rounded up all the glasses in the house - or, at least all the glasses that are accessible. There may be others in the far reaches of my not-so-little sister's bedroom, or under all the detritus in my father's study.

In total there were 359 glasses. Many needed a good wash to remove 30+ years of grime. (This job would have been a lot longer had I not tackled the mess in/on the sideboard in the dining room in July 2018.) Once they were all clean, Mr hazelh and I played a game of glass snap to gather all matching glasses together. Then we sorted them into several sets: glass to keep; glass to donate elsewhere; crystal to keep; glass and crystal that belong to my not-so-little sister; and glass and crystal to sell.

After the arrival of my not-so-little sister in the late afternoon, Mr hazelh and I emptied a cupboard in my father's study and brought downstairs bedding, old bags and suitcases, and more curtains for sorting. With the help of Mummy hazelh and my not-so-little sister, we determined that most of these items should be sent to the cat and dog home, or to charity shops.

The only hiccup in all the sorting over the past two days is the discovery this evening that we accidentally delivered some books to Oxfam in error yesterday. My not-so-little sister blames me for not checking every single tome personally with her before adding it to the discard pile. Meanwhile I consider her the guilty party for not making the ownership of her books absolutely clear in all cases. We didn't donate any which were obviously hers (e.g. with her name written on the inside cover), and we didn't touch any books kept in her bedroom. (In any case, shouldn't she keep all her books in her own house in Newcastle, as I do mine in Edinburgh, and our middle sister hers in Sussex?)

Exercise today: none.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.