FLOWER FRIDAY

There aren’t many days when I’m not dashing about, so it has been a joy this morning just to lounge around in my pink robe and do virtually nothing.  I know there is housework to do, and the dust on the glass table underneath the television could do with shifting, but I don’t feel like doing any of it, so I’m not going to - and what a wonderful feeling that is!

It’s very windy today, so I decided not to bother with going outside to get a flower photograph, choosing instead to take one on my new iPad of the beautiful orchid that is flowering on my kitchen windowsill.  I was very pleased with the result and it fits the bill for Flower Friday.

I have been thinking of various friends today who are going through difficult and challenging times and sending love, prayers and good thoughts to them - and I have also been writing to friends who I know appreciate a hand-written card.  

I find it interesting that my signature hasn't changed over the years - a few years ago, I found my signature on a Will that I had witnessed about thirty years before - and it was almost the same, even down to the little flourish at the end - something my younger son never quite managed to emulate when he would forge my signature to get him out of doing something at school!  

I know I have said before and many of us are aware that actually writing rather than emailing is “going out of fashion” but I know how much I have appreciated all the cards sent after Mum died, so think that as long as I am able to write, I will continue to do just that so if you receive a card from me, I hope you know it is written and sent with love.  In fact, I have written several cards to people and agencies who helped to make Mum’s life easier and more pleasant in her last few months. 

I hope you all have a great weekend - we are going out for Afternoon Tea today - to celebrate the 18th birthday of Lawn Community Centre, where our Church meets, so the Fast800 Way of Eating will be going out of the window!

“In all the ways 
     we express ourselves nonverbally, 
          none is quite so personal 
               as our handwriting.”
Betty Edwards : Author

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.