WALTONS TILES - Grainger Market, Newcastle

I was determined to go out today whatever the weather.  So I was pleased to see sunshine this morning and not rain.

What I also saw was a load of rubbish in my front garden.  The fierce wind must have tipped someone's recycling bin over so I had to go out and pick up numerous beer tins, paper, cardboard packages, tin cans etc.

I got the bus to Newcastle.  Looked in Debenhams - got a couple of items in The Sale. Then some food in Waitrose.

Then off to get my blip shot. A couple of weeks ago I read an article on the website of the local newspaper listing quirky things to look out for in Newcastle. I have blipped one of them.  These tiles can be seen at one of the entrances to the Grainger Market.  This market opened in 1835 and has recently been crowned  Britains Favourite Market 2020. It  has many stalls including greengrocers, butchers, wet fish shops, haberdashers, trendy street food stops, boutique clothes stalls and even the UK's smallest Marks and Spencer.

The tiled floor in my blip shot was placed to advertise Isaac Walton Tailoring a firm which dates from 1887. I guess hundreds people walk over the tiles every day and never even notice them. When I was a schoolgirl Isaac Walton had a large establishment near the Market.  It was the only place which sold the school uniform for the Grammar School I went to.  I remember going there as an 11 year old to get everything a First Year needed.  My Mam and Dad weren't well off and Isaac Walton was an expensive shop so they were very relieved when my Grandad offered to pay for my uniform as he was so proud of me being the first of his grandchildren to pass the 11 plus. 

So I was kitted out from head to toe... brown beret with school badge, brown blazer  - with badge, brown cardigan, cream blouse, brown and yellow striped tie, brown pleated skirt, brown tights and brown shoes. Also gym kit - brown shorts and yellow aertex top and plimsolls.  BROWN.  All the girls hated it.  The boys had a better deal - their uniform was black.

Isaac Walton is still in business in Westgate Road, Newcastle  and concentrates on bespoke tailoring of business, formal and countrywear

Musical link  SCHOOL DAYS- by Chuck Berry

Steps today - 9,811

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.