RIVER DEEP, MOUNTAIN HIGH

A really wet day today.  

I got up nice and early and was in Wilkinsons to get my new (to me) lens by 9.15.  Wow it was in superb condition.  No signs of wear whatsoever the only sign of wear was the box and even that wasn't a lot.  It came complete with front cap, back cap, padded pouch, manual and original warranty slip.  I did inspect it closely, tried it on the camera and ensure it all looked good.  Was very pleased.  The only thing missing was a hood, so I purchased one whilst there.

I then decided to go for a drive.  My original thought was just to stop at Waterhead just outside Ambleside to take some lakeside photos, with boats, ferries etc.   Well the travel bug bit me as I hadn't been out and about for a while so I headed up on past Thirlmere intending to head for Portinscale.

Then as I left Ambleside the rain started and boy did it rain!!!!  So much so I thought I'm not risking another cold or worse still, getting my camera and the new lens wet - perish the thought!!!

So I drove on.  It looked brighter on the right so I drove to Ullswater.  Sadly the weather was no better there.  The only places I thought of stopping I couldn't due to it already being full or someone right up my bumper!!!  

In the end I just pulled into Cow Bridge by Harstop near Brothers Water.  Jumped out of the car, shielding the camera as much as possible and took the above photo.

I don't know whether this beck has a name or not as I can't find one, but it feeds in from Ullswater to Brothers Water.  It was very gloomy as you can see but still very dramatic and beautiful.

I drove on up The Kirkstone Pass and always just missing a pull in place.  As I got near Troutbeck I though aaah the Church I'd love to see that, I thought I saw a car parking space, so turned right - and - NO it was full of walker. So I just had to drive on through Troutbeck itself.  Must make a note to stop there sometime on a better day.

It was good to drive through Troutbeck though because the current book I'm reading is "Troutbeck Testimony" by Rebecca Tope.  In fact the whole Lake District Mystery series is set in Troutbeck as that is where the heroine lives.  It's great to give a sense of place to what you are reading.

The drive has just given me fuel for wanting to get out when the weather improves a bit and before it gets too crowded.

Then I just headed home.  Quite a pleasant drive, despite the rain.  Also a very good excuse  for me to listen to another series of books I collect - The Miss Silver mysteries by Patricia Wentworth.  I had a large set of CD audio books given to me for Christmas (from G) and I've been itching to get out and about to listen to them.  So - 1st CD listened - just another 10 to go!!!!

Thank you all for dropping by again.  Take care and see you all tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.