SAIL AWAY, SAIL AWAY, SAIL AWAY

(C) Chorus from Orinoco Flow by Enya.  Orinoco Flow

Good day today.  It looked quite windy when I got up, I wondered whether I should venture out or not - but well I just had to didn't I.  I could also listen to another of my audio CDs - so a must!!!

I drove up through The Lakes again, via Bowness, Ambleside and Keswick.  Roads quite busy really but otherwise not too many people, just enough to make it interesting.  

I was severely tempted to go up St John's In The Vale as I could see beautiful light clouds and high up snow but I decided to go Portinscale instead.

Surprisingly I managed to get parked on the side of the road with no problem.  Probably because it was quite early - about 10:15 I think.  I started off by visiting The Chalet for coffee and succumbed to a portion of their home made granola with Greek Low Fat yoghurt and fresh fruit - it was yummy.

I then went for a little walk around Portinscale as I've only ever driven through before.   I went past the Derwentwater Hotel and found a little park by the River Derwent and then a footbridge over the river which would take  you into Keswick.  Took a few photos of the river and the bridge (see extras).

After this I jumped in the car and went to to Kitchenholme Kitchens car park again.  It was almost empty.  I took the woodland path (a wide path) down to Nichol End Marina and took a few more photos.  The main blip is one of them.  I met a couple of lovely ladies who were on holiday here from Blackpool, just for a few days.  Best time to come when the weather is like this and very few people around.

Then walked up back through the woods again, through the Lingholme Estate and onto their Jetty to take more photos (see extras).  I zoomed into the fells across the lake to take the third extra because the light was so magnificent.  I believe it's looking over towards Castlerigg but I don't which fell it is as Walla Crag is further over to the right!!!

I then popped into the Lingholme Kitchens for a light lunch.  Mistake I think simply because it was delicious, home-made quiche and salad but it was too much and I had to leave some!!!!!

I then just came home, this time via the M6 - traffic was much quieter on the motorway - this is such a beautiful stretch of the M6 though, the best one to be on in my opinion.

Just a nice 5 hours out.  

Hope you all had a pleasant day too.  Thank you so much for continuing to drop by, take care and see you all tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.