A view from Jeanneb

By Jeanneb53

A day in Bristol

Grace was at work today and took Eda off to Nursery at 8.00 am. So I had a day to myself.
In the morning I got the bus to Cribbs Causeway, an edge of town shopping mall where I had some ordered items to collect.
I popped into John Lewis for my free hot drink and cake, choosing a cheese scone which was enough for me to call it lunch.
Whilst there I decided to see if I could see someone in the Apple store about one or two issues with my iPad. Haven’t had it a year yet so want to be sure all is as it should be whilst it is in warranty and I thought it might be less busy than Leeds. I had just 5 minutes to wait to see a ‘genius’ and he did some clearing and updating ( calling it something else of course ) and all seems to be well so it was worth while carrying my iPad there and back.
In the afternoon I set off to walk down Gloucester Road to meet Grace from work. Plenty of time to pop into favourite shops along the way.
The mural on the narrow gable just before G Road becomes Cheltenham Road is new. I think I’ve blipped it before in previous incarnations. It used to have brightly coloured pictures of vegetables on it when I first came to this area and that was replaced by a little girl. This is my favourite, an urban fox very common in this city.
After meeting Grace we went into Spicer and Cole for a cup of tea and their marvellous vegan banana bread which they toast and serve with a date sauce. It is so yummy! I photographed this as I also like the way they bring an egg timer with your tea so that you know when the tea is brewed! 
Won’t be needing much tea then either! 
We picked Eda up from nursery, she was in very good spirits. We had dancing and fun imaginative play when we got home. The ‘babies’ had to be put to bed but kept waking up! I was up and down the stairs, keeping me fit. Her Spanish Flamenco dress I brought back for her last year is getting a bit tight, maybe Granny will need to get another one next month.
John has gone to see his mum after work as today is her birthday and she lives in Bath where he works and Grace has gone to see a ‘live’ streaming of ‘Kinky Boots’. So I have done bath and bedtime. No problems except I got talked into 4 books instead of 3. We had two books about the Bristol Giants who legend tells created the Avon Gorge. 
Granny’s are a soft touch of course but I’m not complaining and I get all day tomorrow with Eda.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.