Out and in and out

Another dull day tho' the rain seems to have kept off so far. We walked down to the town this morning to get some exercise and do a bit of shopping. 

We heard a fire engine, siren screaming, come from the fire station at the far end of town, then race round the one way system and out of sight. Half an hour later back it came, tearing down George Street, scattering cars and cement mixers in its hurry. Strange to hear the siren as it apparently drove back in the direction of base! Not long afterwards out it came again and we heard it disappear on the road north for the second time. No doubt we'll hear the reason for it in due course.

I was rather amused by the bubbling Gore-Tex advert in a shop window we passed; it summed up the Argyll weather quite well, I thought, so I stopped to take a picture. As I stood up a shop assistant materialised in the window, but she gave me a thumbs-up so I assumed that she thought she might get some publicity out of it. So I've put it on as an extra!

Why do I always forget my 'Quote of the Day'? Here it is;

Cecil Roberts, 'And So to America' - "Franklyn (D.Roosevelt) could charm a canary out of a tree to sit at a tomcat’s supper." 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.