Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Sappho at Bowes

I was up and out early this morning to meet other members of the RPS Documentary Group (Northern) at Bowes Museum in Barnard Castle.

It was a beautiful day and I drove through the pretty village of Staindrop on my way there. Aunties Louie and Lizzie travelled through there on their way to and from Barnard Castle to stay with Lizzie's friend, for their annual holiday. Auntie Louie dreamed of living there.

It was perishingly cold in Barney and the museum seemed colder inside that out! Gradually it warmed as the morning proceeded, but I kept coat and gilet on throughout.

We went to see the Norman Cornish exhibition. Yes, photographers should go and look at the work of artists. I loved the exhibition. It's almost entirely of his painting and sketches of his pit village home in Co. Durham. It sparked the most interesting conversations about our own grandparents and parents. 

I grew up in Sunderland, so my family background was in the shipyards. Both my grandfathers worked there.

C has a mining background, with activists amongst her grandparents: one was very involved in the development of the local Labour party and another was at the inception of the Durham Miners' Association. There was a lot to discuss. 

I was delighted to find this tiny exhibition by my friend Lady Kitt. It is an intricate paper cut out of Sappho and hangs near to a silver statue of the goddess. The pink paper boat beneath says "And I say to you, Someone will remember us in time to come"

Kitt's work here is inspired by Chinese shrines and she plans to burn the exhibit at the end of the show as paper offerings. It was almost impossible to photograph because of the very low light and the spotlights.

Read more about Kitt here.

My extra is the all time favourite, the silver swan. This is an impressive automaton and sits in a gallery of priceless art works.

It was most enjoyable to share the day with like minded people. I drove home over the moors and the views were stupendous. You could see for miles and miles and forever.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.