Stokketjie

By Stokketjie

Its a long road

Today was an incredible introduction to rural Liberia. The day started at 06:00 with many pick ups and drop offs and supply shopping ending in Sapo National Park at 21:00.
I was told numerous times the road will be bad and long and I must make sure to have snacks. A box of digestive cookies and bananas bought along the road definitely got me through until the end of the day. And the road through the forest was reasonably good as its currently the dry season.
The scenery was so beautiful I just kept staring out the window. Picture featured was taken along the road. I am so inspired by all the team members, especially today our cars’ driver who is also a trained botanist.
Also although being an English speaking country it seems people struggle to understand me so one of my colleagues has kindly taken to translating my English.... into Liberian English. It’s something like dropping half of the words in a sentance and leaving out some consonants. (posting this a few days later and starting to get the hang of it)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.