Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Sharp-Shinned Hawk

This small hawk was just sitting on my neighbor's backyard wall scoping out the area.  

Odd that it would be here because it's generally a woodland hawk and this would not be it's natural environment.  So I'm betting it was just taking a rest during it's migration.  The nearby Coronado National Forest is this bird's likely final destination.   I stalked it for about fifteen minutes before it finally turned around.  I got a pretty good twisted head shot, too.

Edit: Reprocessed on 29 March 2019. 

I'm giving some thought to putting in a feeder but I have cactus in the way of the sight lines from my patio.  I'd like to attract and photograph more birds, or maybe hummers, this spring.  I've already seen a hummer at Alma's house.  I'll need help to get it into our hard soil.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.