A Day of Bubbles

This morning I caught the 8.25am train into London where I was meeting Lorraine, Vicky and Jen.  It was planned back in November when Jen and I met up with Alison, Rachel and Fiona, as Lorraine couldn't come then because she was ill, and Vicky couldn't make it either, so we timed it for my birthday.  Unfortunately the other three couldn't join us today due to illness, but the four of us had a lovely day and it's really nice still being in touch with friends that we made during our time in Belgium.

While I was on the train I had a call from Ibby who was in Oslo, he was due to fly back to Dubai and just called on the off chance to say hello. We usually chat by Whats App Messenger as in Dubai he can't use the voice  or video call so it was nice to hear from him and he was telling me about his upcoming travels and the guy he's recently met in Amsterdam.  I said it's hard to believe that it's almost a year since mine and Alan's flight to Dubai when we first met him - where's that time gone!

I met up with the girls at the Champagne Bar at St Pancras Station as we normally do, but it was a bit early to start on the champagne, so we just had hot chocolate and coffees.  I wanted to go to the Shard for a birthday drink as I've not been for ages,  but sadly it's been closed for a makeover and still hasn't reopened, so we decided to head to the Oxo Tower, as I wanted to go somewhere with a view.  We we caught the tube to Waterloo and walked along the South Bank, but didn't have much luck there either as the bar in the Oxo Tower was closed for a private function!

Anyway, we carried on along the South Bank and found a nice place with outside seating and patio heaters.  By this point it was really sunny, so it was nice to sit outside and enjoy the view of the Thames.  We shared a couple of bottles of prosecco and sat chatting before heading to Brasserie Blanc for a late lunch.  On our way we passed this guy entertaining kids and adults alike with his bubbles, so we stopped to watch.  He had two different types of sticks that he uses, one with lots of little loops to create these small bubbles and a larger one to great the big ones which I've added to my extras.

My train home was at 6.20pm so I left the girls to each go their separate way and Alan picked me up from the station when I got back.

Today was also Bobbie and Milou's 6th birthday, so I feel like a very bad mummy abandoning them for the day, but at least Alan was at home, so they weren't home alone.  They did have treats once I got home though!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.