Life In Wales

By KarenC

Sheer Stupidy!

Storm Ciara has hit the UK with winds of 70-80 miles per hour,  and this morning I popped down to the undercliff walk at high tide.  As I've said before, I don't take any risks, I stand at a very safe viewing point where there's no chance of me getting caught by the waves or hit my flying pebbles.  However, not everyone thinks the same way and I couldn't believe it when this guy came along and walked along the wall towards the waves -he was with friends who were taking photos!  Well, he gave me a good photo, which was taken with my old bridge camera as I didn't want to risk my good cameras getting wet and salty.  I wasn't as close as it may look as I used the zoom and have cropped the image, but it's not very sharp as the lens was covered in salt water!

I normally hate it when anyone with a high-vis jacket walks into my shots, but on this occasion I was quite pleased as at least he stands out amidst the greyness!

I spent about an hour down at the beach, it was invigorating and there was so much spume that it looked like the beach was covered in snow!  There were also lots of Oyster Catchers on the beach - they're always there when it's stormy and I'm not sure if it's because they know that food will be thrown onto the beach or whether they just huddle on the beach because they can't go in the sea.

I then went to the gym for the first time since my shoulder op, I didn't do anything heavy with my arms, just the treadmill, bike, elliptical and then a couple of resistance machines for my legs.  It's good to be back even if I can't do everything, I'll get there!

The wind is really building up now, and our friends Sandra and Lu who were due to fly back from Norway this morning are stuck there as their flight was cancelled.  They booked another one for tonight but that's also been cancelled!

Stay warm and safe and I hope there's no major damage for anyone.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.