Doing my duty!

It looks like Mother Nature has stepped in, and made some decisions about my weekend. I would have been prepared to tackle the drive back home in the horrible winds etc, but dad and Jon from either end of my journey, don’t want me to. So I’m staying in Hoddesdon tonight, and driving to work in Norwich from here in the morning. I’ll leave at 6 and should be in by 9. Assuming there aren’t any trees down to block my way.

Dad has managed to get up today, which is good. Although he is dozing on the sofa now...but at 90 we allow that! I’m spending the day trawling through the old family history research I did originally in the 1990’s. I’m impressed with how much info I gathered before we had even heard of the internet, let alone access to it in our own homes. Some was from library records, and we even went up to London when you were allowed to access the original registers in Somerset House. That was a long time ago. I do like having the internet though, it has just expanded all possibilities beyond anything we could have imagined back in the 90’s.

I’ve added a photo of one of mums olive trees. She has 4, and 3 have nothing, but this one is full of olives. In the front garden in Hertfordshire! Would you believe it?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.