Bedford Street, Norwich

I was rudely awoken by my alarm at 5.30am. It felt like I had only just dropped off. With a long drive ahead of me, I couldn't snooze it. I had breakfast, gathered my bags together and said goodbye to mum. Then was on the road just after 6am. It was dark, and still quite windy, so I avoided the A10 dual carriageway from Hoddesdon because of the big flyover bit by Ware. It is so open I thought the wind could whoosh me over the edge. So I went through Ware, and blow me, was stopped by a fallen tree going up the hill. Luckily for me a coach coming towards me flashed to alert me, as in the dark I couldn't see it! I kept to the main road to Cambridge then on the A505 was diverted off at Thriplow because the road was closed. I ended up winding all through almost to Addenbrookes by this detour and had to come back via Shelford Road, past Scotsdales through Shelford and Sawston. It was a bit of a trip down memory lane....but it added half an hour to my drive. From there, the A11 was fine and I got in to work at 9.20, picking up a pair of tights in Jarrolds on my way in.

Felt extremely tired all day, so was pleased when 4pm arrived. Henry was at college today, so he met me and we drove home. As we exited the carpark, were were battered by a downpour of hail. Really big they were and making a lot of noise on my car roof.

Nice to drive home in the daylight. I cooked tea and now plan a quiet evening with Jon, Ralph and my puzzle.

Photo is the road I walk up to our office which is on the alley just off this road. It seemed particularly serene at 9 this morning. Full of charachter, as are so many of the Norwich Lanes. I've added our house with the tiniest dusting of snow. The first, and maybe only bit this year?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.