"They've stolen my pontoon"

When we came back from shopping this morning, we came from the Ferry Road end, which afforded us a view from the bridge showing that the river was in spate. There were also a few men in orange coats hanging around. After dropping off the shopping in the flat, I headed straight out again and got a photograph of this chap, on his temporary metal stairs, obviously discussing the disappearance of his pontoon with someone at the other end of a phone line. At first, I wondered if they had taken it away themselves to avoid problems when the river level rose, so I chatted to him, and he said that no, it had broken its moorings during the night. Hardly surprising given the weight of water, plus the trees and other stuff coming down the river. He said someone from the new flats right by the river reported hearing a loud bang at 1am.

Courtesy of twitter, I discovered that the pontoon (or maybe just most of it...) wasn't far away. It made it round the first couple of sharp bends, which might have been where the noise came from as this would have been quite spectacular as it came around the corner under the East Bowling Green street bridge. But it had obviously grounded once it hits the parts of the river which are not deep, probably on the mud banks on the Quilts side of the river. I've attached an extra, as I popped down to check it was still there.

Well, that's about as much excitement as today has provided. I had a terrible night's sleep, so I decided I didn't want to walk over to Projekt 42 in the rain, and cancelled yoga. Instead, we went to the supermarket, as I needed to get some provisions to make dinner for tomorrow's book group. I got my act together and started by making the dessert, which was quite fun. And rather messy. Seems tasty though. I've spent the evening sending out "save the date" messages for an event (with norfolkdoc) later in the year, and doing some boring admin stuff on my laptop. It has, of course, been wet and windy for most of the day, but I don't think that by any means have we had the worst of the weather here. Although there may be a bit more to come tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.