An unusual raft

I couldn't resist going to have a look at what was going on with the broken pontoon on the Water of Leith, after my spinning class. I found these two workers shepherding part of the pontoon down to the landing stage just below the Great Junction street bridge, where apparently it was then craned out, broken up into its constituent lego bricks and brought back up to the South Fort Street bridge (where I saw it piled up on Tuesday morning - this is a backblip). It will presumably be returned to its rightful position when/if the Water of Leith calms down again. Hopefully, next time around they will use more than just four sturdy ropes to tether it. It strikes me that there was a bit of a lack of due diligence and/or risk assessment. I've added an extra of the people responsible for breaking the pontoon into individual raft sized elements. Meanwhile, various bits of the pontoon have broken off and ended up underneath and beyond the Sandport bridge, much to the annoyance, nay anger, of the local group Friends of the Water of Leith Basin, who do sterling work to keep this part of the river reasonably clear, not least because it poses a huge flood risk these days, as it is so badly managed by the people who are supposed to be responsible for it. The weather was not really propitious for this type of work, but I guess the workmen were appropriately clad and presumably the ones on the actual river were wearing dry suits. They looked reasonably cheerful despite the fact that it was sleeting when I took those photographs.

After that, the day was mainly about interspersing bits of cooking with bits of work, and then - of course - it was book group. Most of what I produced was ok, but one thing - with mackerel - really didn't work, and stank the flat out... I won't be doing that again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.