One place I definitely would not want to be

I've belatedly backblipped for yesterday. Forgot about it earlier on, so ended up doing both days more or less consecutively.

I probably ate and drank too much yesterday evening, so it was a bit of a slow and lumpy start after not the best night. The flat also still stank of mackerel this morning, although after a clean up by Mr A and the cooking of passata for tonight's pizzas, I think it has more or less dissipated. Thank goodness...

I've been working at home today, and it's mainly been on dull stuff - reading and commenting, emails, that sort of thing. The proofs have arrived for the book. I will print them out tomorrow. Plenty of work there....

I got my blip first thing, when we walked over to the supermarket for a couple of items, via the Water of Leith. The clean up from yesterday seems complete, although the river is in a mess because so much debris has been carried downstream. This crane belongs to the building site behind the old State cinema on Great Junction Street. The photograph was taken from the landing stage where they were craning the pontoons out yesterday. The flats overlooking the river will have a good view, but by the look of it they are just metal framed insta-build things, not like the much nicer brick-built houses and flats that have gone up on the other side of the Water of Leith from us. Yesterday, I saw that crane moving in the high winds - there was obviously someone up there operating it. Today, perhaps not. But it's definitely not somewhere I would like to work, regardless of the state of the wind.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.