Kaikoura......

.....just after sunrise as the sun tried so hard to break through the cloud, amazing colours and light, such a beautiful morning, peaceful and calm.

We decided we'd do the cliff top walk after breakfast. It had not long been opened and was steep at the beginning. Other years I wouldn't have managed it but this year my fitness was great. The views were amazing looking out to the east over the Pacific Ocean and down below onto small bays full of seals and birds, mainly gulls. To the west we could see snow capped mountains, I loved every moment. The weather was iffy, a few spots of rain, a cool nor'wester was blowing and pockets of sun. We were glad to be wearing our jackets, it's a walk I wouldn't like to do in the heat of summer.

After lunch we drove north to Ohau Point, I was keen to see how the seal colony was doing after the earthquake. I was taken aback, a huge wall had been constructed to prevent them from climbing onto the road, which was great! They could still access the little stream and able to venture up to the waterfall but not many were doing so due to the large rocks in the stream, the track was closed to everyone. Seal numbers were up and the viewing was amazing. I took many, many photo's of seal pup's playing in rock pools while mothers were out fishing. I can see where man and nature have come together to create an area suitable for both, do stop if ever your passing by and remember September is a good time for seeing seal pups.

There's a few extra's if your interested.

We finished our day at our most favourite restuarant in Kaikoura - Zephyr Restaurant. The food is always superbly cooked and well presented, an amazing menu with friendly wait staff, it does pay to book as it's very popular.

An amazing day with my dear hubby :)

Absolutely disappointed this has become a backblip, my eyes and life  simply got in the way, most frustrating :(

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.