If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Amaryllis.

These are sold as Amaryllis, and I have known this one as Amaryllis for at least 34 years.  However I think if memory serves they are more correctly Amaryllis x Hippeastrum, or knowing the way plant names change perhaps just Hippeastrum by now.

I have been saving the flower for the proverbial rainy day.  Well the weather has been to say the least damp and I needed an emergency blip.  The flowers will have gone over in a few days anyway.   Why do I need an emergency blip?  Well I thought I would have time in the evening for a play, itb wasn't to be.

Just as I was getting started we received notice via ArcaneSpark in Sheffield that there may not be any water in the taps in the morning.  The most up to date information is, when you eventually track it down, that United utilities will be setting up a bottle collection point in the village car park.  However they haven't said when!   They have said there is one open in a truck depot 6 miles away.   When I visited the UU website they don't even mention our village/area as having any problem.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.