If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Saracennia.

A record shot today.  A while ago Kanyl gave me a Saracennia which was "surplus to requirements".  It has since thrived, not all plants do with me, certainly not to the extent they do with him.  A while ago I noticed a little "drum stick"below the level of the pot.   It has slowly progressed until it is now 5 cm (2") tall.  It has a long way to go before it is a flower so you will probably see it again when I am desperate for a blip.

Something else I want to record for my own purposes, is the woodcrete nest box in the tree.  A pair of Great Tits (Parus major) were inspecting the "des res".  At different times both male and female were inside the box, with the female spending quite a while inside.

The rest of the day continued the work at the Lodge followed by a webinar by Friends of the Lake District as part of the "Dark Sky Festival" on astrophotography.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.