Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Flighty Fourteen

I had to go with this close up shot of a Wild Turkey hen for my 2020 Yardbird record.  I was tucked in the hide under rainy skies, waiting for some action when I heard the distinctive sound of a beak pecking at the metal seed tray.  Very furtively, since said tray was a mere 10 feet from the hide, I shifted to the other side, carefully opened the zippered window, even more carefully poked my lens out ... and got my shots.  On the surface, you might look at this bird and think to yourself "yikes, that's an ugly bird".  But I'd ask you to look closer at her lovely brown eyes and her spectacular feathers ... and then see if you still think she's ugly.  I personally think she's spectacular in her own way.

And I will confess to being geekishly thrilled to be so close to a turkey as they are usually very skittish, racing into the woods at the slightest hint of motion.  Not sure where her buddies were today, but it was nice to see her.

This morning as Hubs and I were sitting down to breakfast, I happened to look out and spotted over 30 American Robins in the yard, busily pulling out ...worms!  I feel safe in saying that I've never seen robins hunting worms in the middle of February before!  In with the robins were several Starlings, some red-winged blackbirds and a few brown-headed cowbirds.  And, at the edge of the woods was a big Pileated Woodpecker.  Meanwhile, geese (both Snow and Canada) were flying overhead and all the usual suspects were at the feeders.  A very nice start to the day.

Hubs and I are working on pulling together all of our tax info to take to our accountant. Always a hideous chore, but needs to be done.

My foot is feeling so much better now - the improvement in just the last 2 weeks has been monumental.  I scarcely feel it when I'm walking and it only causes a sharp intake of breath when I turn my foot a certain way.  Very happy.

Here's to a good week ahead.  Thanks for stopping by.  

xo
Debbi

Fitness Notes - 15 minutes on the elliptical (2.5 miles) followed by upper and lower body weights.  I didn't sleep well last night and it showed in my strength today which wasn't up to par.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.